Annex – "A"

## JADAVPUR UNIVERSITY KOLKATA – 32

Draft minutes of the 16<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the 9<sup>th</sup> Executive Council, constituted for the period of 2016-2020 in terms of West Bengal University Laws (Amendment) Act, 2011 held on Monday, the 25<sup>th</sup> of September, 2017 at 11-00 a.m. in the Committee Room No. I of the University.

### **MEMBERS PRESENT :**

Prof. Suranjan Das, Vice-Chancellor - in the Chair Prof. A.S. Verma, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Dr. P.K.Ghosh, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Prof. Narendra Kumar Singh Gaur, Nominee of the Chancellor Sri Manojit Mandal, Nominee of Chairman of West Bengal State Council of Higher Education Prof. Chiranjib Bhattacharjee, Dean, Faculty of Engg. & Tech. Prof. Subrata Nath Koner, Dean, Faculty Council of Science Prof. Samita Sen, Faculty Council of ISLM Prof. Udayan Bhattacharya, HoD, Lib. & Inf. Sc. Prof. Dipankar Sanyal, HoD, ME Prof. Provash Ch. Chakraborty, HoD, Met. & Mat. Engg. Prof. Atashee Chatterjee Sinha, HoD, Philosophy Dr. Gopal Chandra Saha, HoD, Physical Education Prof. Argha Deb, HoD, Physics Prof. Amitava Datta, HoD, Power Engg. Prof. Kanai Ch. Paul, HoD, Printing Engg. Prof. Arunashu Sekhar Kuar, HoD Production Engg.

Members of the Council accepted the following correction of Resolution No. 12 dated 10.8.2017:

#### Correction of Resolution No. 12 dated 10.8.2017

The following group of words be inserted between the words "Co-ordinator" & "Computer" appearing at the  $1^{st}$  line of the  $1^{st}$  paragraph of the resolution:

"Centre for Microprocessor Application for Training Education and dResearch"

#### ::3::

At the outset of the meeting, the members of the Council observer one minutes' silence to pay homage to the following persons:

Sultan Ahmed Victims of Earthquake in Mexico New Zealand After that the Vice-Chancellor introduced Dr. P.K.Ghosh and Dr. Partha Pratim Lahiri among the members of the Court for assuming the Office of the Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Registrar respectively.

Resolved that the draft minutes of the 15<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the 9<sup>th</sup> Executive Council, constituted for the period of 2016-2020 in terms of West Bengal University Laws (Amendment) Act,2011 held on 29<sup>th</sup> of August, 2017 at 2-00 p.m. in the Committee Room No. I of the University, copy of which had been circulated in Annexure – "A" to the agenda, be and is hereby confirmed with the following corrections:

# **Resolution No. 21:**

The clause (ii) of the resolution be replaced by the following group of words "Discounts Maximum : as applicable/possible"

2. Considered the recommendation of the Four Deans Committee regarding selection of Guest-in-Chief and conferment of Honoris Causa at the 62<sup>nd</sup> Annual Convocation & Special Convocation of the University to be held on 24<sup>th</sup> of December,2017 in terms of Clause 102 of J.U. First Statutes, 1982 under J.U.Act,1981.

## **Resolved that** –

i) the following distinguished personality be invited as **Guest-in-Chief** at the ensuing  $62^{nd}$  Annual Convocation of the University to be held on  $24^{th}$  of December,2017:

Shri Pranab Kumar Mukherjee, Former President of India

ii) the panel of following personalities be recommended for conferring the Degree of Doctor of Literature Honoris Causa (D. Lit) & D.Sc. at the ensuing  $62^{nd}$  Special Convocation – 2017 of the University to be held on  $24^{th}$  of December,2017 in terms of Clause 102 of J.U. First Statutes, 19821 under J.U.Act,1981:

#### (**D.** Litt)

Justice Ruma Pal, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India Prof. Ved Prakash, the former Chairman, UGC

::3::

# (**D.Sc.**)

Prof. Ajay Kumar Sood, Noted Physicist, IISC, Bangalore Dr. Arun Kumar Bhaduri, FNAE, Director, Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research

and be forwarded to the Court of the University for approval.

3. Considered the G.O. No. 1101(21)-Edn(U)/1U-66/17(Pt-1 dated 20.9.2017 from the Government of West Bengal, Department of Higher Education, Science & Technology and Biotechnology, University Branch regarding surrender of Unspent Fund under

Different Schemes under State Plan Fund sanctioned prior to 1.4.2016 i.e. up to Financial Year 2015-2016.

Noted that upto March 2016 there are 13 cases where Plan Grant have been sanctioned out of which (1) RIFD based Library Management System at Central Library & Salt Lake campus Library (2) Civil works of Technology Bhavan (2<sup>nd</sup> Floor to 7<sup>th</sup> floor) (3) Lightning Arrester at Main Campus (4) Digital Language Lab. are not completed. Out of which, (1) order has been given for RIFD based Library Management System to the Webel where payment be released in advance immediately. (2) For civil works of Technology Bhavan order has been given Bridge & Roof where payment be released in advance. (3) Lightning Arrester job has not been started so fund to be returned to the Government. (4) For Digital Language Lab. order has been placed to the Webel where fund to be released in advance.

Noted that the above decisions have been taken in a joint meeting organized by Pro-Vice-Chancellor (PKG) with Registrar, Finance Officer, IT Committee Member, Chief Librarian and University Engineer to avoid refund of fund to the Government.

**Resolved that** the aforesaid decisions be immediately implemented and a only sum of Rs.46,16,096 for Lightning Arrester be refunded to the Government at the earliest, as per order issued as above.

Action : Registrar/Finance Officer

4. Ratified the action of the Vice-Chancellor dated 25.9.2017 in approving the following amendment of the last advertisement for the post of Assistant Professor for Geography:

"'M.Sc. in Geography' be substituted by 'Post-Graduate Degree in Geography'

# **Action : Personnel**